Bodega Vendetta “Freak Love”

Freak Love

I am officially breaking (nearly) a YEAR of silence! Ta-da!

Did you miss me? The feelings are mutual. Fear not, I come with a sonic offering to make up for my absence. I have been working on a mix with my friend, Marcus (#GoWes) inspired by “Cuffing Season“. As with any creative output, there is a certain irrational anxiety accompanied with letting go and sharing your art with the world. In an attempt to stop hoarding my process and perpetually wait for the myth of “perfection” to realize itself, I have decided to share more freely in 2013 (don’t worry, this isn’t another bullshit New Years Resolution #orisit?). Believe it or not, this blog was my very first attempt at forcing myself to publish regularly. Without the boundaries and structure of an Institution to impose the hammer of discipline, it’s all too easy to fall into a pit of stagnation and paralysis. I digress…

“Freak Love” is the end result of a music sharing process that transformed into a playlist of classic slow jams and more contemporary genre-bending synth-soul that is sure to put you in the mood. Yeah, that mood. Whether you have a boo or not, it’s two hours of tunes that will have you ready to bounce, cuddle and get your freaky on. And while I have absolutely no expertise in DJ mixing, this is my best attempt at audio editing in the recent past. Don’t expect any creative transitions or precise technical beat-matching…yet. The perks of having DJ homies is that they generously donate their time and wisdom to gaming me up on the appropriate Software. There will be more mixes to come with more tricks up our sleeve. If you enjoy what you hear, spread the love!

Bodega Vendetta is a sonic collaboration between Marcus Warmington (Brooklyn, NY) and Isa Nakazawa (San Francisco, CA). These two music enthusiasts have joined forces with the intent of curating soul soothing sounds that straddle across coasts. “Freak Love” is their debut mix designed explicitly as a soundtrack for cuffing season.

For those who don’t know what cuffing season is, here’s a hint: “During the Fall and Winter months people who would normally rather be single or promiscuous find themselves along with the rest of the world desiring to be “Cuffed” or tied down by a serious relationship. The cold weather and prolonged indoor activity causes singles to become lonely and desperate to be cuffed.”

What are you waiting for? Press play and get cuffed…

Comments
One Response to “Bodega Vendetta “Freak Love””
  1. Arthur says:

    I dig this! This sounds so smooth. Came here by way of Wesconnect. The site keeps getting better.

Leave a comment