Melanie Fiona Gives It To Us Right

melanie

“I’m not trying to run your life, that’s why I’m nobody’s wife” — Melanie Fiona

thebridgeFor the first time (in a long time) I am genuinely satisfied with the music being put out. With the recent release of Maxwell’s masterpiece BLACKsummers’night, MeLo-X’s subsequent instrumental remix of Maxwell’s album, Bilal’s Return of Mr. Wonderful mixtape and finally the official first drop from soulstress Melanie Fiona (before the release of her highly anticipated album “The Bridge”) featuring the illustrious ?uesto, soul music lovers everywhere are overwhelmed by the quality and quantity of smooth summer sounds to savor. I just discovered Melanie Fiona yesterday on the drive back from Stinson Beach with my girl Christine. She played me her live remix of Sam Cooke’s classic “Cupid” and the power of her voice left me wanting more. It’s been a MINUTE since a first listen provoked such a visceral response from me. I went home and got lost in watching youtube videos of her spontaneously performing in staircases, on tour with Kanye West and outdoors in her hometown Toronto, Canada. It doesn’t take much to be charmed by her strong vocals and sharp style. I am JUICED over the influx of powerhouse female vocalists whose music speaks for itself. Take a listen and judge for yourself:

…and that’s an acapella joint with weak sound quality…she has an undeniable talent!

Listen to more Melanie Fiona HERE. Download her Live Remix of “The Bridge” HERE.

Leave a Reply

