Mi Vida Loca

mamaclothing1

“Taking it back to a theme she (Gabriela of Mama Clothing) visited in the early days of Mama, her collection entitled “Mi Vida Loca” takes inspiration from classic, west coast Americana style of the lives of L.A. Chola’s depicted in the movie “Mi Vida Loca”. The collection takes us from the Zoot Suit Riots of the 1940’s, to the low rider culture of today.” — M.I.S.S. CREW

It could be my recent relocation to the West Coast but I’m impressed with the overall look and presentation of Mama’s latest look book (via M.I.S.S. CREW). Of course, there are some obvious concerns about the overly romanticized and referenced “Chola” aesthetic that seems to be ubiquitous in the street fashion game. However, I can vouch for it’s relevance out here as opposed to New York hipsters who fail in their attempt to borrow from LA inspired clothing. I don’t mean to be a hater but it just doesn’t translate. As you know, I’m not overly invested in “authenticity” and culture wars so I thought it was worth sharing. Kudos to the artistic director on this one and Mama Clothing, I’m always hype about bad girl clothes (shout out to Hellz Bellz) like this:

mamaloca1

mamaladies1

mamnails1

mamastunt2

mamladies1

Peep the full look book here. Check out Mama Clothing. HOLLA!

Leave a Reply

