Lying Poets

The (in)frequency at which I post about Björk does not adequately reflect her influence on my life. My sisters and I took a necessary break from Björk when admiration turned addiction and we couldn’t make it through the day without listening to at least one of her albums from beginning to end. It was a full blown infatuation but who could blame us? As the above video demonstrates, she is both bizarre and brilliant. Fortunately, no Icelandic poet ever tricked me into believing that television was an evil brainwashing mechanism. I can honestly say that after 22 years of watching TV, I have never once had the desire to understand the complex science behind it. Apparently, there are entire magical cities hidden in our operating systems! Leave it up to Björk to make such discoveries…and document them on YouTube to share with the online community. The funniest part of the clip is the introductory preamble where she rants about holiday programming and how spiritual, serious and gay Icelandic people appear to be…and how good the “Icelandic comic people” are at making jokes. Wait, maybe the funniest part is her use of “weird situations” to describe her viewing experience. I’m not sure what it is about this video but it makes me smile and I think the world would be a better place if we were all as awkwardly curious as Björk. I want to get my hands on this enlightening Danish book on television, it sounds like THE TRUTH (scientific truth). It cracks me up that her conclusion is that scientific truth trumps artistic truth (or the truth of the poet). Let’s all take her word for it and not let poets lie to us! Hahaha…

bjork31

Comments
3 Responses to “Lying Poets”
  1. jills says:

    i love that you love her

  2. Billion $ Baño says:

    awww…she’s so cute when she’s trying to be scientifical haha

  3. Lois P. says:

    she is literally the best. best.

Leave a Reply

