Little Dragon

yukimi1

Speaking of Sweden, I’ve been HARDBODY diggin’ on Swedish-Japanese singer Yukimi Nagano and her electronic band Little Dragon based in Gothenburg. I’m not sure what’s poppin’ off over there in Sweden but there is no shortage of brilliant and unique music being produced now (or ever, really). I’m similarly seduced by Yukimi’s voice quality as I am by Lykke Li’s, it’s something difficult to grasp. I have a hard time pinpointing which particular magical elements make the music work so well and move so deep. I find myself listening to Little Dragon over and over. Some songs make me want to dance, others make me want to cry, it’s a little bit of everything. Check it out:

Twice I turned my back on you
I fell flat on my face but didn’t lose
Tell me where would I go?
Tell me what led you on? I’d love to know

Constant surprises
Coming my way
Some call it coincidence
But I like to call it fate

littledragon1

Peep Little Dragon’s MySpace. Website. Another Video.

Leave a Reply

