Happy Birthday, Mom

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!!

Okay, let me stop. But seriously, I’m trying to add some drama to this day because the twenties feel so uneventful. At 25 you can rent a car but that’s about all for the state sponsored perks. I suppose this day should simply be an affirmation of life but more importantly a celebration of my mother who was, after all, in labor twenty two years ago to the day in a hospital somewhere in Charlotte, North Carolina (yes, I was born in North Carolina, I can show the skeptics my passport to prove it) screaming and crying from the pain that comes with bringing a once upon a time Isa baby into the world. I still think birthdays should be about the mothers so this one’s for you mama. I love you.

Leave a Reply

