K’Naan: The Troubadour

knaan1knaan21

Somalian born poet, emcee, lover and fighter K’naan is readying the release of his sophomore album Troubadour. I find K’naan’s strength as a writer in his ability to tell stories. Like all great emcees (most notably Slick Rick), K’naan grounds his work in personal stories of struggle and triumph. Initially, I dismissed K’naan for songs and rhymes I deemed “corny” and “conscious” (in the contrived sense) but I quickly came around to him after a few listens. In the words of Goapele “don’t fight the feeling”. Now that I’ve embraced the feeling, I wanted to share the following video recently released of K’naan walking us through one of his latest joints about growing up. Peep it y’all:

I have to give a shout out to my bebot Lisa. I can’t listen to K’naan without thinking of YOU! Lisa and I used to sit in her room and watch the following collaboration with Nelly Furtado and afterwards try and recreate the duo with each other. This one’s for you:

I’ll keep you posted on the release date of Troubadour. Say word.

Leave a Reply

