Miracle At St. Anna

I’m too tired and emotionally drained to share any nuanced reaction right now but please go see Spike Lee’s new joint Miracle At St. Anna. Heads up: it’s three hours long and if you’re like me, you’ll probably cry a great deal (mostly towards the end). I’ll say this much: I truly loved it. Here’s the trailer to get y’all motivated to go see it:

***Honestly, I’m shocked at how universally bad the reviews are for this flick. Rotten Tomatoes gave it a measly 29%, possibly the lowest score I’ve ever seen on that site, not to mention it’s literally SIX points lower than the score for “You Don’t Mess with Zohan”. Can someone seriously explain this disparity to me? What is going on right now, I feel like I’m taking crazy pills!!! Everyone is overly eager to cut Spike Lee down for stating the facts about director Clint Eastwood’s blatant omission of soldiers of color from his two war films, Letters From Iwo Jima and Flags of Our Fathers. How are these claims at all controversial? I’M SO CONFUSED! Reviewer upon reviewer argue that Lee needs to “get over the race thing” and “move on”. Let’s not forget that Spike Lee is relatively moderate on the political spectrum and yet he’s continuously treated like some over-zealous revolutionary, it makes absolutely no sense. What’s everyones beef with subtitles and subplots? I’m sorry but it feels like the average American viewer can’t deal with complexity, foreign languages and protagonists of color and I can’t fucking deal with it. If you’re one of those moviegoers that lets these shithead racist (yeah, I said it) reviewers determine what movies you watch, please silence their judgment this time. Go see the movie and decide for yourself. Let’s not act like Adam Sandler as Israeli commando hairstylist Zohan is more worthwhile than the story of Buffalo Soldiers. I’m not saying that the movie/Spike Lee is perfect by any means but I find this overwhelmingly negative reaction to be completely absurd and indicative of the very problems so many Americans argue we are now “beyond”. Don’t be fooled, we are not beyond anything. Transcendence is merely a myth.

Comments
One Response to “Miracle At St. Anna”
  1. Care says:

    “Arturo!” I had the opportunity to attend the premiere here in NYC and I must say, I was crying like a baby. But I quickly had to gather myself so Michael Ealy and Laz Alonso wouldn’t see the hot mess that I had become.

Leave a Reply

