Nostalgic for D’Angelo

Does anyone miss D’Angelo as much as I do? Lately, I’ve been reconnecting with Voodoo and Brown Sugar and damn, they still move me like few albums can. I know the man went through hard times and made mistakes along the way with serious drug abuse and frequent court date appearances on his record but every now and then I hear rumors of a come back and I’m waiting patiently for that day. Unlike the haters out there, I am open to new things while also sharing a timeless appreciation for the good ol’ days of D’Angelo. It really doesn’t make sense to expect the same sound or look from an artist over time. And yet, people always find something to hate on. Mostly his temporary weight gain. People were heated that he lost his sex appeal post-Untitled. I think all the bad press traumatized him enough to get back to his old build but shit that was some effed up media frenzy. The majority of fans don’t even know about his modest height of 5’7″. I tend to go for the shortys anyway (In fact I was tempted to do a post about just that, maybe I’ll do it later) but it should be known that dude is both sexy as hell and short so stop hating! Instead of riding homie off after taking a hiatus to fuck up/fuck around (everyone fronts like they’ve never fucked up? Most of the haters are cokeheads themselves, it makes no sense), I remain ridiculously hype over this rumored J Records project with anticipated collaborations from the very best in the game: Raphael Saadiq, Q-Tip and Ali Shaheed Muhammed. I almost think it’s impossible for those four to produce anything less than amazing but that’s just me. If it’s anything close to this throwback joint they did back in 97 on the Chris Rock show for Valentine’s Day, we have no idea what’s coming (esp. if ?uestlove gets involved):

You know it’s my duty to re-acquaint you with this video, right? Good

Comments
2 Responses to “Nostalgic for D’Angelo”
  1. Saeid says:

    “Does anyone miss D’Angelo as much as I do?”

    Um, yes.

  2. Josh says:

    Oh, Isa. The answer is undoubtedly YES. I’d put Voodoo as one of the greatest albums of all time…you read the SPIN article that came out recently? Dude’s doing well again and starting to slowly make music. I’m not gonna hold my breath, but I’m definitely patiently waiting for that album.

Leave a Reply

