INSOMNIA 101

I’ve been having serious trouble sleeping lately. I try to exhaust myself with dense reading, lowgrade free online TV, AIM back and forths with Maryasin, aimless facebooking (although I’ve recently given up on facebook, the new look killed it), frequent blog updates, iTunes playlists and on and on. I’ve even resorted to listening to my Dad’s Qigong exercises and Buddhist prayer chants on my Ipod to relax and develop disciplined breathing practices? Who knows. Sometimes it works, most of the time my restlessness prevents me from following even the most elemental instructions like “lie down, close your eyes and breathe”. I digress. So, what does insomnia have to do with Mos Def anyway? Though r&b, soul and general baby making music are my lullabies of choice, I always make an exception for Mighty Mos. I have found that “Climb” and “Umi Says” help me relax and eventually sleep (after two or three loops…at least). As many of you know, “Climb” is one of my all time favorite songs and I had the sudden impulse to post the video and lyrics. (Warning: the lyrics are a bit depressing but relevant…very, very relevant). I doubt any of you are awake given the time difference and all but if you’re up late this week, holler @ me, I’ll probably be wide awake and looking for distractions. Oh also, my neighbors upstairs are constantly making wild sex noises between the hours of 3 to 6:30 AM! Daaaamn! Take pity on a girl, this real world ish is out of control sometimes. Sweet dreams, world.

People climbed into the night like space suits
People stepped into the night like moon boots
Marching like moon troops
In their zoot colored zoot suits

People climbed into the night like cool wells
Shiny bottles in their hands
Drinking their new selves
They say it’s their true selves

People climbed up in the night like green trees
They were hanging from the night like green leaves
Buzzing like queen bees

People climbed into the night like space suits
People stomped inside the night
Stomping and stomping and stomping and stomping and stomping

Where are they going?
What’s the rush?
Everybody’s embraced but so out of touch

Night-time is when the things get heavy
You feel alone and you want somebody
Loneliness whispers desperate measures
And you’re frantic all by yourself

Night-time is when the things get heavy
You feel alone and you want somebody
Loneliness whispers desperate measures
Baby don’t make no fast moves
Baby don’t make no fast moves
Baby don’t make no fast moves
Baby don’t make no fast moves— Tonight

Comments
One Response to “INSOMNIA 101”
  1. Care says:

    Loves this song as well. You’re just gorgeous for this post…

Leave a Reply

